ADAGIO for orchestra

Adagio was written in 2016, commissioned by the Noord Nederlands Orkest. Duration approx 6:00
 First performances:  March 9 at Oosterpoort Groningen  and March 10 at Tivoli-Vredenburg Utrecht, by  NNO conducted by Antony Hermus.


Adagio was inspired by the sea. Its structure is shaped like a wave: A movement from silence to fortissimo and back to silence.
 Time passes by during  a slow dialogue of 2 big drums, positioned left and right behind the orchestra. Published by DONEMUS 2017




2 ob

2 cl Bb

1 bs

1 dbs


4 fh in F

2 tp in C

2 tb

1 btb

1 tuba


2 gran casse



1 or 2 harps





pdf score